top of page

Tokyo Revengers : My honest thoughts on Tokyo Revengers

Updated: Jul 1, 2021




I Absolutely LOVED watching Tokyo Revengers. From the OP( Crybaby by Hige Dandism) to the visuals, story, and pacing, I very much enjoyed it. If you have not read the manga or watched the show yet, here is a short breakdown of the story so you can understand:


The MC of the anime Takemichi Hanagaki is a 26 year old cry baby virgin who has the most depressing life you could think of. He one day learns that his previous girlfriend from middle school Hinata Tachibana and her younger brother Naoto Tachibana are killed during an altercation with the violent Tokyo Manji Gang. After learning this, Takemichi starts to wonder what went wrong in his shit stain of a life, and in the midst of this is pushed in front of a train that is supposed to end his life...but it doesn't. He teleports to year 2005,12 years in the past during his middle school days which he believes to be the highlight of his middle school years. It isn't, he was tormented and bullied relentlessly along with his friends. To shorten this summary Takemichi is now granted the opportunity to save his middle school girlfriend, his friends, and change the things he wished he could've during this time.


If you are familiar with the anime Erased and enjoyed it, this anime will definitely be of interest to you as they have a huge similarity(Time travelling).


If you think you know what is going to happen next in this anime, trust me you are probably wrong. This show is one hell of a rollercoaster. Watching the MC of this anime fight to keep his friends alive, and start to grow mentally throughout the series Is something I love most about this anime and can honestly continue watching forever if I was given the chance. So far the animated season is on-going, however I hope the show continues to keep watchers like me on our toes.


So far, I would rate this a 9/10 since it is not completely finished yet on screen. This is a manga I will be purchasing immediately.


You can watch Tokyo Revengers on Crunchyroll


PS: I want to be completely transparent with any and all things posted on AnimeSanLive. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. These thoughts are my own, and in no way will I try to push my opinions about an anime or manga on anyone else.


Let's talk about it! Join our Forum, and start a conversation: HERE


14 views0 comments
bottom of page